blueberry scones and a cup of coffee…..

What better way to start your day than a warm blueberry scone, drizzled with blueberry glaze. Add a steaming cup of coffee and you’re all set. I love scones……a GOOD scone. I will settle for the ones they sell at that big name coffee shop, but I would rather make my own. The ones in the coffee shops are always dry. I HATE that! The ones pictured here are so moist. I over did it on the butter however, so they didn’t rise as much as they should have. But they are delicious, melt in your mouth, buttery, crumbly scones. I drizzled them with a blueberry glaze, but you could simply sprinkle them with a course sugar before baking. That is the way that I prefer them. I hope you will try these.

Blueberry Buttermilk Scones

3 cups all-purpose flour
1/3 cup sugar
1 teaspoon salt
2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 cup COLD butter
1 cup buttermilk (you made need a little more)
1 cup fresh blueberries
Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Put dry ingredients in food processor, pulse to mix. Add butter, pulse until you have big crumbs.
Dump into a bowl. Add buttermilk and mix with a fork until a shaggy mass forms. Add a little more buttermilk if necessary to bring the dough together. Form into a disk about 1 1/2 inches high, and cut into 4ths or 8ths.

Place on a parchment lined sheet pan and freeze for 20 minutes Remove from freezer, sprinkle with course sugar.

Bake for about 12 minutes. Cool slightly on wire racks and serve, or drizzle with blueberry glaze:
Glaze: just a few blueberries in the food processor, with some powdered sugar and a few little sprinkles of water or lemon juice, to get the consistency that you want. Drizzle it on the scones. DELICIOUS.
blueberryglazescone  blueberryglazescone2

Tell Me What You Think